Snippets code from my daily experience

December 13, 2008

Komodo French Localization coming soon

Filed under: babelzilla,komodo,localization — dafi @ 10:56 am

This morning I’ve found a couple of emails coming from my BabelZilla forum subscriptions, after reading them I went to WTS homepage where I saw the image shown below.

komodo-locale

Fantastic! The French localization is completed, 2016 strings translated!

When I asked to BabelZilla guys to localize Komodo I could not imagine they did it so quickly.

Many activities must be coordinated with ActiveState team

  • Remove all hardcoded strings (amazingly new code continues to be written with hard-coded strings!!!😯 😕 )
  • Establish a time deadline to froze new strings added to trunks (this can drastically simplify localization cycle)
  • Lang Pack release process and better integration with code development lifecycle

But be calm dafi😛 … one step at a time

I want to say thanks to Goofy, the BabelZilla Super Mod, and Pedro the Italian localizer that helped me from the beginning, they helped me to “extract” hard-coded strings and prepare patches to submit.
A big “thank you” goes to all localizers (especially the French community) for dedicating time and passion to this work.

Technically speaking an installable French lang pack is already ready for KomodoEdit v5.0.2, French team are completing the quality test and everybody can help them.

Who want to see Komodo in French can register on Babelzilla and read more at Komodo Lang Pack forum thread…

… and Goofy has already localized in French my extension TabSwitcher

Blog at WordPress.com.

